National Imaging Associates

Learn More About NIA

I am interested in learning more about how NIA can help me achieve:

Accredited Imaging Facilities

When a diagnostic medical imaging facility is accredited, it has voluntarily undergone a certification process and it meets the minimum requirements designated by an accrediting organization.

The American College of Radiology (ACR) is one of the leading radiology accrediting organizations in the U.S. It is comprised of 32,000 radiologists and other medical professionals working in radiology. When a facility undergoes the ACR certification process, experts from ACR examine all areas of the facility to ensure it is of the highest quality - from medical imaging quality and personnel qualifications to facility equipment and more.

The ACR accredits facilities in:

  • Breast ultrasound
  • Computed tomography (CT)
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  • Mammography
  • Nuclear medicine
  • Positron emission tomography (PET)
  • Stereotactic breast biopsy
  • Ultrasound
  • Radiation oncology

If a medical imaging or other health care facility is ACR-accredited, it means:

  • The facility meets nationally accepted standards.
  • The personnel working there are well qualified, through education and certification. They are able to perform and interpret your medical images and administer radiation therapy treatments.
  • The diagnostic imaging equipment is appropriate for the test or treatment you are receiving, and the facility meets or exceeds quality assurance and safety guidelines.

It is important to note that a medical imaging facility does not have to be accredited in order to operate. But, if you choose to have your procedure performed at a non-accredited facility, keep in mind that you may not receive the highest quality of care available.

To find an ACR-accredited facility, visit